National Navigation Award Scheme

Relating the map to the ground
Relating the map to the ground

The National Navigation Award Scheme (NNAS) was launched at the Royal Institute of Navigation in 1994. The scheme operates in the United Kingdom and is a personal performance, non-competitive series of map reading and navigation awards for all ages.

The scheme operates both an adult and junior series of awards. The junior awards (Junior Navigation Star Awards) and the adult National Navigation Awards both have three levels of qualification (Bronze, Silver and Gold) with the junior Gold level leading in to the adult Bronze award, allowing for natural progression of children into the main scheme.

The National Navigation Award Scheme website can be found at

The website includes a list of registered course providers. Follow the link to see Martin Digby’s listing as a registered NNAS course provider.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The blog for